Let It Snow!

 

 

This winter, we’ve had a number of false snow alarms. No fewer than a dozen times, the kids have gone to bed only to wake up disappointed that there wasn’t even a single snowflake on the ground. What I now realize – after living in the mountains for 5 years – it that the weather here operates on the rules of opposite day. In other words, if we have 10 inches predicted, we’ll get nothing; but on the day that there’s a 30% chance of a light dusting of snow, it dumps.

And so when I got the call from the kids’ schools that they were letting out an hour early, I rolled my eyes in annoyance. It is at least our fourth snow or ice disturbance of the semester and yet we’ve barely had any weather issues. Well, imagine my surprise when two hours after we got home, I looked outside and saw a solid sheet of white coming out of the sky.

You have never seen two children get outfitted in their jackets and boots as fast as my two got ready to fly out the door. That enthusiasm was a bit premature though because it was really coming down. They were both miserable in two minutes flat.

snow12

snow11

And so we went back inside to wait for the wet flakes to subside a bit before venturing back out. About an hour later, the conditions were perfect for some snow fun.

snow16

snow15
This is our driveway after I walked down to check the mail. 
snow14

And this is our street…that the Irishman still had to drive home on in his tiny Acura! He made it home okay, but I was a nervous wreck waiting for him to come home.

snow13

The dogs loved the snow! In all truth, Nona is not supposed to be running (with her suspected torn knee ligament), but she was having so much fun chasing her brother around that I let her carry on for a bit.

snow10

snow09

Daisy, the silly girl, wanted to eat in her “spot” on the deck in spite of the fact that the deck was completely covered in snow.

snow08

Parker paused in his snowball making to let me snap a picture.

snow07

And then he hopped in on this photo of Lexi at the last second. I’m bummed that his face is cut out of frame, but alas, kids move so fast that it’s inevitable.

snow06

Our snow princess.

snow05

snow04 snow03

He looks like he’s up to something…

snow02

snow01

I’m not sure if this was the only snow day of the year, but I’m so very glad that we at least had one good dumping. I mean, if we’re going to suffer through single digit temperatures, the least we can get it some snow, right?

 

One thought on “Let It Snow!

Leave a Reply

