Mother’s Day

As a Mother’s Day gift, my dear husband bought me my first SLR camera, a Nikon D40. I’ve been interested in (ok, obsessed with) this camera for a while now and I was thrilled to finally get it. Of course, now I have to learn how to use it and for that, I made the request that we all trudge out to the park in 90 degree weather so that we could break it in. Parker was more than happy to run around like a maniac and while the Irishman and I took turns herding Parker and taking pics, I’m pretty happy with how they came out.

Here’s a photographic jouney of our park visit.

Upon arriving at the park, Parker starts charting our course.

Photobucket

Notice how he could not care less where his parents are.

Photobucket

Oh wait, now he remembers us. “Hey are you guys coming or what?”

Photobucket

“Hey mom and dad, this looks like a great place to take some pictures together.” (Doesn’t Parker speak wonderfully for a one year old?)

Photobucket

And 10 shots later, my dear husband finally catches one where we’re both looking at the camera.

Photobucket

As we come over the bridge and around the path, I make Parker stop for one more shot of us together. Notice his, “get out of my way or I’ll hit you with my stick” expression.

Photobucket

And this is where the party really starts. Parker notices for the first time that there’s a sizeable body of water. Take a guess what happens next…

Photobucket

Not so fast Buck-o!

Photobucket

Parker tries to cut to the right, but I’m bigger and faster.

Photobucket

“Shucks mom, you beat me this time…but that sure was fun!”

Photobucket

And there you have it folks, our fun day at the park. We promptly ran to the car and guzzled a gallon of water before passing out.

One thought on “Mother’s Day

  1. Melissa May 13, 2008 / 1:41 pm

    These pictures are AMAZING! The camera is definitely worth every penny when you can have such wonderful pics of the cutest kid ever!!!

Leave a Reply

