A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Wiis

In case you didn’t already know this, I am not a fan of video games. I don’t like to play them and I don’t like to watch other people play them. When the Irishman plays video games at home, I have flashbacks of high school sitting on my then-boyfriend’s couch waiting for “just one more round” before we could go to a movie or out to dinner. I can’t count the endless, mind-numbing hours that I’ve wasted in my life waiting for “just one more round.” As a result, I have a visceral reaction to all video game systems. My husband knows this. Each new game system purchased (and I believe he owns them all) is a small battle of wills between us.

I knew he had been thinking about buying a Nintendo Wii. I also knew that the reason he hadn’t was that I would probably have a small coronary since both a GameCube and an XBox 360 had been purchased in the last year or so; however, the Irishman had a plan. He bought a Wii on the very same day that I was presented with my glorious Nikon D40 camera. He knew that, in my mind-numbing delirium of FINALLY having an SLR of my own, he could get away with buying the Wii with minimal grief.

I thought that I would have the same reaction to the Wii that I’ve had to every other game system I’ve encountered. I thought wrong. In fact, I’m somewhat embarrassed to report that I’ve played the Wii every single day since it was set up. Even though we haven’t bought any games beyond the Wii Sports that came with the system, it has provided us with countless hours of joy…and competition. I have to say, though, that I LOVE watching the Irishman play Wii. It is HILARIOUS! While I’m sure that I look just as ridiculous, I’m the one with the camera, so I’m going to share these pictures with you at his expense. So folks, without further ado, let’s make fun of my husband.

Here’s the Irishman completing a tennis backhand. Just look at that form! He played tennis in high school a decade ago and I think it shows.

Photobucket

And here is his magnificant serve. Just look at the ground clearance…and the flying wisps of hair. I think the leg kick is what really does it for me in this shot.

Photobucket

And finally, we have, well, I don’t really know what he’s doing here. But that doesn’t matter. Just check out the intensity folks! Notice the clenched jaw and the tense form. Yes, he is really into this game.

Photobucket

After watching my husband play, I always vow that I won’t look quite as ridiculous when my turn it up. But then I fasten the remote to my wrist and nothing else matters. It’s just me and the game. And then it’s the Irishman’s turn to bust a gut at my expense.

One thought on “A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Wiis

  1. meg May 18, 2008 / 10:38 pm

    parker’s hair is sticking up at exactly that same angle in the park pics. 🙂

Leave a Reply

