Running Update

Well, I can officially say that I’m back in the game. I’ve done three 4-mile runs in the last week and I feel pretty good about that, all things considered. A couple things I’ve learned though (and these are in no particular order).

1. Running up hills totally sucks. My knees told me as much a couple of days last week, so I’m going to stick with flat roads until I get my orthotics completely broken in.

2. 30 is NOT the new 20 when it comes to levels of fitness, particularly when you were crazily fit at 20. I have to keep reminding myself that it’s ok if I can’t go flying out the door to effortlessly run 14 miles (ok, so 4 miles isn’t effortless either, but you don’t need to rub it in, ok?) However, I love nothing more than a challenge so I’m looking forward to adding more mileage as the weeks roll by and I hope to report back pretty soon saying that I OWN 4 miles.

3. All sports bras are not created equally…I’ll leave it at that.

4. Doing two runs less than 12 hours apart less than 2 weeks back in the game is not the smartest thing you can do. Rest days are good. Back-to-back runs are bad. Amen.

5. Running with someone else is a good thing. The miles seem to go by faster, you look cooler because you have a running partner, and your pride won’t let you quit before you begin. I highly suggest having a running partner. I’m constantly looking for people to run with so if you’re interested, let me know! I’m currently taking applicants for anywhere from 3-20 mile runs over the next 6 months.

And finally number 6. My son could care less what my running accomplishments are for this week. When I was telling him my progress, this was the response that I got:

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

