Just Do It!

Photobucket

The other day, while I was lovingly styling my Nike hat for its close-up, I started thinking about brands and what their logos are meant to say about you or to you. Now, for the most part, I don’t really have brand loyalty for too many things and if I do, it’s because of the way that something fits or tastes and not because of what the purchase or consumption of that product is supposed to say about me. Well, the exception would be some of my more expensive purses, which are all about female status, but let’s get back to my point.

I have to say though that something about Nike’s logo completely speaks to me. So many people have so many excuses for why they aren’t reaching their goals or pursuing their dreams. My response to them is this: “JUST DO IT!”

While some of us definitely go through life with fewer obstacles than others, at the end of the day, you are your own biggest roadblock. People use a variety of excuses to explain away their immobility. For some people, it’s fear of failure. For others, it’s fear of change. Of course, there’s always the old standby – sheer laziness. To be honest with you, I don’t have a single problem with any of those things, as long as you understand that they’re of your own creation and you don’t complain about being where you are.

And really, if you’re completely fine with where you are in life I want to be the first to give you a big round of applause because being happy with where you are RIGHT NOW is what life is all about for me. However, if you aren’t happy or if you know that your potential is not being fully realized, what’s holding you back? Don’t wait until the first of the year or until your life slows down or until you get a raise. Whatever it is you want out of life, “JUST DO IT!”

When I used to work at Blockbuster over a decade ago as a high school kid, there was a sign on the back of the employee break room that said, “Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react.” I walked by that sign more times than I care to recall and I can remember exactly when the truth of that quote hit me – I was two steps out the door and it stopped me in my tracks. When the light bulb went on, my brain translated that slogan into this message:

Life happens. Good things and bad things will happen. The only thing you have control over is your own reaction. When life knocks you down, go home, lick your wounds for as long as you need to, but whatever you do, get back up and just do it.

Of course, the “it” in “just do it” is different for everyone. Whether it’s getting a better job, losing those extra 30 lbs, traveling to another country, finishing a marathon or just forgiving yourself for your flaws, there is no better time than right now to get going. So take a deep breath, have an honest conversation with yourself about what’s preventing you from getting there, and (you knew it was coming) “JUST DO IT!”

One thought on “Just Do It!

  1. Dean June 18, 2008 / 4:01 pm

    Reminds me of one of my favorite quotes from the Office by Michael Scott (Steve Carrel):”I live by one rule: No office romances, no way. Very messy, inappropriate… no. But,I also live by another rule: Just do it… Nike.”

Leave a Reply

