The Best Of: Onscreen Characters

I was recently out to lunch with some friends and we started talking about different characters in movies that we were drawn to. I thought it was really interesting how different all of our tastes were. One of my friends was into laid-back, beach type characters (think Matthew McConaughy), while the other preffered the underdog, friend-type (like the guy from Office Space). As for me, well, let’s just say that I prefer darker, conflicted characters that don’t speak much. Hmmm, I wonder what that says about me? Anyway, I thought I would share my top 5 here with you. I would like to point out that (with the exception of Hugh Jackman), it’s the character that I’m into and not necessarily the actor. Oh, and these are in no particular order.

Jason Bourne of the Bourne Series. Great movies if you haven’t seen them. I think it’s his versatility that I like. He’s just so damn competent at everything. That and he’s very serious. I like that too.

Photobucket

Wolverine. (This one goes back to the fourth grade, but Hugh Jackman is a definite improvement over the cartoon version)…. Ok, sorry, I got distracted there for a second. Moving right along.

Photobucket

Superman. Um, 6’4″, 215 lb. man of steel? I don’t think I need to say anything further.

Photobucket

Billy Costigan from The Departed. This also ranks in my top five movies of all time. If these characters were ranked, he would be at the very top. I’m not exactly sure what it is about his character that I am most drawn to, but it probably has something to do with the juxtaposition of his toughness and vulnerability. Or something like that.

Photobucket

Finally, Legolas from Lord of the Rings. He’s the only blonde that made it on the list, but there’s just something about him that works. As an aside, I keep trying to get the Irishman to grow out his hair and to stop talking so much, but he’s not buying it.

Photobucket

Now, please excuse me while I go watch The Departed for the 11th time.

Leave a Reply

