Triathlon

Photobucket

Well, I’ve gone and done it. I decided to sign up for my first triathlon. I figured since I’m already swimming and cycling and running, I might as well go ahead and enter a race for fun. It’s a sprint triathlon, so here’s the breakdown: 1/2 mile swim, 14 mile bike ride and 3 mile run.

Logistically speaking, this means that I need to get my bike into the shop to get it tuned up since I’ve been doing a lot of my miles on a spinner bike. I’ll also need to practice swimming in a wetsuit since the triathlon is at the end of October in an Orlando lake at 7am.

I’m actually really pumped about being in a race. For all of my marathon training, my goal there is simply to finish. I’m not looking to beat a particular time or to place in my age group. I seriously just want to cross the finish line in one piece.

On the other hand, I can treat this triathlon as an actual competition and that really gets my juices flowing. It’s been more than ten years since my last race. I miss it…badly. Strangely enough, I miss the burning muscles just as much as I miss the adrenaline rush.

It’s also nice to have a purpose for all of my swimming and cycling miles. Drive and direction are always good things when it comes to pumping up your workout. I’ll be sure to keep you posted!

Food/Exercise Log:

Breakfast – Coffee and a Kashi breakfast bar

Workout – 1 hour swim (2 miles)

Lunch – Veggie wrap (cucumber, avocado, tomato, sprouts, lettuce, mushrooms on an Ezekiel wrap with ranch dressing) and an apple

Dinner – Veggie burger, small salad and a slice of homemade carrot cake (It was a pretty stressful week and I bake as a stress reliever, so I ate a slice of this homemade goodness and sent the rest off with the Irishman to feed to his friends)

2 thoughts on “Triathlon

  1. big brother August 10, 2008 / 8:43 pm

    newsflash, it is still warm in Orlando in October!

  2. Cyn August 12, 2008 / 1:27 pm

    Hey, I’m just going based on what the event organizer said – the lake is apparently pretty chilly in late October.

Leave a Reply

