Chicago: Reader’s Digest Version

Man, what a cool city! In case I had any delusions that I would be happy living in a rural town, this past week reminded me how much of a city girl I really am. The scores of beautiful people, the shopping, the Starbucks, the bars…it was everything that we wanted it to be. Add in the perfect weather and we couldn’t have planned a more perfect trip.

Our flight left really early on Tuesday morning and we had an awesome view of the sunrise above the clouds. (Pay no mind to the dirty airplane window).

Photobucket

We arrived around lunch time and checked into our fabulous hotel. We stayed at the Sheraton on the river, which had amazingly soft beds (I confess to sleeping 12 hours straight our second night there).

Photobucket

Then, we went straight to the Navy Pier to check things out there since it was just a short walk from our hotel.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I was being silly and chatted with a bronze statue of Bob Newhart. That’s another thing I miss about big cities – all of the crazy people. I can do things in Chicago that would make me feel completely ridiculous here…like sit and chat with bronze statues.

Photobucket

We had dinner that night at a local brewery and had fun “networking” at the hotel bar, which was home to a number of conferences.

The next three days, we were all business. We went to the University of Chicago’s Gleacher Center, which was right across the street from our hotel to attend our HLM workshop.

Photobucket

This was the classroom where we convened for statistical enlightenment (That’s my buddy K in the green sweater).

Photobucket

I have to say that we both learned a lot of the reasoning behind each step of the statistical technique. More importantly, we’re now on a first name basis with the two distinguished professors who taught the course. In case you were wondering, yes, we did get them to sign our books!

We also went on an architectural boat tour and these are some of the cool shorts that I took during that excursion.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The week ended with a crazy night out (and a couple of Irish Car Bombs), but we had a great time. All in all, I was ready to come back home and see my boys, but I did so with some great memories, some random business cards and a new pair of designer jeans (of course).

One thought on “Chicago: Reader’s Digest Version

  1. Melissa October 3, 2008 / 5:25 pm

    KUDOS for your phtographic skills Cyn – I love the pics!

Leave a Reply

