Fall Is Here!

Photobucket

This is without a doubt my favorite time of year. On the first day of fall, North Florida got the memo that cooler weather was supposed to arrive and I’ve been enjoying it all week. I had no idea when I left Chicago that the 50 degree mornings would follow me home, but sure enough, it was 52 degrees for our Thursday morning run and we were loving it.

The last couple of years, I haven’t been able to fully enjoy the fall holiday season. Two years ago, I was very pregnant and was more into decorating the nursery than the rest of the house. Last year, I was working from home with a 10-month old while finishing my dissertation and my sleep-deprived self had not an ounce of attention to spare for anything else. This year, however, I am bubbling over with excitement to decorate for fall. I’ve dedicated five hours of my schedule tomorrow to making the house festive.

It’s not just the cooler weather and my favorite color palette that make fall my favorite season. I’m mildly obsessed with all of the fall rituals like baking, shopping for Christmas presents, carving pumpkins and picking Halloween costumes. I always want something to look forward to and this season is bursting at the seems will fall festivals and holidays. We jump from Halloween to Thanksgiving to Christmas without missing a beat. It feels a little frantic with all of the preparation and planning, but I like feeling busy and mildly chaotic.

Plus, Parker is just getting to the age that he can knowingly participate in picking a costume and unwrapping his presents. My secret reason for wanting a child is that I now get the chance to pass on traditions to him. I have so many wonderful memories of baking with my mom and listening to Christmas music with my dad that I can’t wait to give Parker the same kind of carefree childhood that I had.

On second thought, I don’t think that I can wait until tomorrow to decorate. I think that I need to go shopping right now to get started! Oh, and I promise to send all of you cookies when I get to the baking portion of the festivities.

Leave a Reply

