Milk Aversion

So, I nursed my son for 14 months…around the clock…throughout the night. While it was a great experience (exhausting, but great), it really made me view cow’s milk differently. I couldn’t help but see it for what it really was – sustenance for baby cows. Suddenly, I had a vision of those mama cows hooked up to milking machines and given my own experience with a breast pump…I shuddered in sympathy. I also learned that, not only are humans are the only species that drinks the milk of another species, but who also continue to drink milk after they are weaned.

All of this made me consider all of the alternative milks out there and I set out to try them as a cow’s milk replacement. The first obvious choice was soy milk. Parker had already skipped the cow and went straight to original soy milk, so I already had that in the house to try. I also tried all of the flavored versions – vanilla, chocolate, even hazelnut coffee creamer. My conclusion was that while I’ll put soy milk on my cereal or in my smoothies, I wasn’t crazy about drinking it by itself.

Next, I tried almond milk. While I was slightly put off by the thought of almonds made into milk, I tried it anyway. Oh my sweet deliciousness! Almond milk, particularly the vanilla flavor, is one of the tastiest things I’ve had in a while. I confess to chugging it straight from the carton…when no one is watching of course. It’s even better on top of my blueberry flax granola, which transforms my whole grain snack into a scrumptious dessert. Seriously, it’s that good.

While I was really into the almond milk (and had gallons of it in my fridge), I still had a couple more to try before making my final verdict. I tried rice milk once and I’ll just say that I could do without it. Finally, the last milk that I tried was hemp milk. I was intrigued by it and a little bit leery of what it could possibly taste like, but I’ll try anything once. Honestly, it wasn’t half bad. It had a nutty flavor with a slightly licorice aftertaste. I was impressed by it’s nutritional content (it has a lot of omega 3s), so I think I’ll keep it in as an occasional drink, but almond milk remains my favorite of the group by far.

Leave a Reply

