Battered Feet

One thing I didn’t take into consideration when I started this marathon journey is the toll that it would take on my feet. I used to have lovely manicured feet. I would get regular pedicures and always had brightly colored toenails that were seasonably fashionable. Yup, I used to have feminine, well maintained little feet, but that is definitely a thing of the past.

Now, my feet are an utter mess. My toes are calloused and bruised, I just lost my first toenail (YIKES!) and they just appear battered in general. Definitely a sorry sight. (Don’t worry, I’ll spare you the picture.)

It seems like I should care that they’re in such a state, but surprisingly, it doesn’t really bother me. I feel like it’s just a right of passage. My own version of battle wounds gained during this crazy journey. When I get back from a run, I examine my feet with a detached focus looking for anything that could potentially slow me down because really, that is all I care about these days.

My single drive is that I need to keep going no matter what. It’s like running through an obstacle course with illness, trips and work as the hurdles that I need to move beyond. I get frustrated when life gets in the way of my mileage and I’m trying to do everything I can to stay healthy and injury-free for the next 2.5 months. We’re so close now that every week counts.

Leave a Reply

