Running Update And A Funny

I am quite pleased to report that yesterday, I ran (drum roll please) 20 miles! Woohoo! It was quite the painful accomplishment, but any lingering doubts I may have had about my ability to complete the marathon were completely quashed. My ankles were killing me from about mile 15 onward, but the good news is that the pain had a plateau and once it got to “painful as hell,” it didn’t get any worse. In other words, I now know I can run through it if they start to plague me during the marathon, which I guess is the true purpose of doing a 20 miler in training.

Now, it’s all downhill from here. With only two weeks of training runs left, I have a 10 mile run scheduled for Sunday with an 8 mile run to follow the next weekend. Yup, it’s time to taper for the race, which means that the next two weeks are all about resting and getting over the aches and pains. My ankles will very much appreciate the R&R. I can’t imagine what it’s going to feel like to run on fresh legs since the last month or so has just been brutal.

Now for the funny that I promised in the title. I was at a bookstore looking at vegetarian cookbooks when I came across this:

Photobucket

The Bacon Cookbook? King of the Blue Plate BBQ? What? I’m certain some teenager (or someone like my husband) relocated these cookbooks into the vegetarian section as a joke to see if anyone would notice. I have to admit, I thought it was pretty funny and since I was at the bookstore alone with no one to share it with, I snapped a picture with my iPhone so that I could share it with all of you.

Leave a Reply

