Homemade Cream of Mushroom Soup – My Favorite!

I need to post a disclaimer. I’m not a huge fan of mushrooms. I won’t pick them out of my food if they’re already there, but I generally don’t go out of my way to add them to something that I’m making at home. With that said, I know that mushrooms, particularly shitaki mushrooms, are really good for you. So, I decided to search for some recipes that incorporated them that I wouldn’t find repulsive.

When I first decided to make this soup, I was a little apprehensive. I can honestly say that I’ve never had canned cream of mushroom soup, so I didn’t have any preconceived notions of what it should taste like. I am, however, game to try anything once so I gave it a whirl…and I was floored. This was just about the yummiest, creamiest soup I’d ever had. Add in the “easy to make” factor and this definitely became an instant favorite.

Ok, here we go. You’ll need 3 cups chopped fresh mushrooms (I used a combo of fresh Chantrelle and Shitaki), 1 chopped onion, 3 cups vegetable or chicken broth, 3 tablespoons melter butter, 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour, 1.5 cups milk and 1/2 cup half and half.

Photobucket

Put in a tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of oilve oil into your pan.

Photobucket

Add the chopped onion into your pan, saute for a minute or two and then add in your chopped mushrooms and saute for a couple of minutes.

Photobucket

Next, add in your vegetable or chicken broth.

Photobucket

Bring your soup to a boil, then reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer for 15 minutes covered. While your soup is simmering, you’re going to make your rue. Combine the melted butter and flour in a bowl.

Photobucket

Stir it until it makes a paste.

Photobucket

Stir the paste into the pan with the vegetables.

Photobucket

Now, you’re going to increase the heat to medium and gradually stir in the milk. Continue stirring constantly.

Photobucket

When the mixture thickens and begins to boil, stir in the cream. Cook over low heat without boiling for about 10 minutes, or until the mushrooms are tender. Season with salt and pepper.

You can leave the soup as is, but I love to give it a creamy consistency by blending it. I use this very handy immersion blender, but you could just as easily pour it into a blender or food processor and get the same results.

Photobucket

Here is the final products in all of it’s creamy glory.

Photobucket

Mmmmmmm. I seriously consume this entire pot in about 48 hours by myself. It makes me happy…and full.

Leave a Reply

