Handing Over The Keys

I’m not exactly sure why, but my husband thinks that I am the only one of us that is capable of doing certain things. One such thing has to do with shopping. I came home from the grocery store a couple of weeks ago and I had bought tomatoes. He let out a sudden whoop of enthusiasm and said that now, he can finally make BLTs. I asked what he meant by that and he said that we hadn’t had tomatoes in the house in, like, forever. Mind you, he hadn’t expressed a desire for tomatoes nor had he put them on the shopping list (which is not kept in a secret hiding place). As I thought more about it, I realized that this was pretty patterned behavior.

Fast forward a couple of weeks and this is the email that I received:

“Hi dear. Could you please get me some Cliff Bars if you come across them in the store. The cookie dough flavor please.”

I decided that I finally needed to address the “wife only does the food related stuff” issue and sent him back the following email:

“Hi there. I have great news. I got together with the people at Publix and Target and they decided that you can have your own set of keys. To better serve you, they also posted their hours of operation on the doors and you can go buy whatever you need at that time. Happy shopping!”

Leave a Reply

