Three Bean Salad

Photobucket

Since I don’t do meat, the majority of my protein comes from beans and fish. I sometimes feel like the Bubba Gump of beans. I make bean soups, bean stews, bean dips, bean salads…

This three bean salad is by far one of the easiest things that I make on a regular basis. It has so few ingredients and it comes together in less than 5 minutes. I love making this for a quick lunch after I get back from the gym and I’m looking to pack in the protein. Did I mention that it’s delicious?

Here are the ingredients: garbanzo beans, kidney beans, black beans, green pepper, onion, lemon, oil and vinegar.

Photobucket

First, chop about 1 cup of green peppers (about 1/2 of a large one).

Photobucket

We’re also going to chop a 1/2 cup of onions (again, about 1/2 of a small onion).

Photobucket

Now put the green peppers and onions into a large bowl.

Photobucket

Next, we’re going to drain and rinse our beans. You just want to give them a slight rinse to get rid of a little bit of sodium, but you don’t want to get rid of all of the juices.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I think I might decorate my next house in those colors. They’re so earthy and warm. Ok, now add your slightly rinsed beans into your bowl. Once they’re in there, we’re going to add 3 tablespoons of vinegar.

Photobucket

Now, add 2 tablespoons of olive oil.

Photobucket

Next, add in a little bit less than a tablespoon of lemon juice.

Photobucket

Finally, add in salt and pepper to your own tastes.

Photobucket

Give it a nice mix and viola!

Photobucket

If you have the time (and the patience), go ahead and refrigerate your bean salad for about 30 minutes so that the flavors have a chance to meld. This is also one of those things that is even better the next day.

Now if you’ll excuse me, this salad is calling my name.

3 thoughts on “Three Bean Salad

  1. meg March 8, 2009 / 12:35 am

    been meaning to ask if you had a good 3 bean salad recipe. can’t wait to try!

  2. Jessica March 16, 2009 / 7:40 pm

    Didn’t you just paint your whole house “garbanzo bean” tannish yellow? I got the paint swatch that you used and I love it, it just doesn’t go with my day-core (or lack of it)

  3. Cyn March 19, 2009 / 12:11 pm

    LOL Jess, yes, we painted our main bedroom that color and are moving our way towards the other two bedrooms. I didn’t even realize that my White Raisin, was actually Garbanzo Bean!

Leave a Reply

