Vegetatri-anniversary

So, I’ve been a vegetarian for around one year now. (Technically, I’m a pescetarian since I do eat fish, but I’m just trying to keep it simple here.) What’s interesting is that I never set out to be a vegetarian. It just kind of happened. Which is also why I don’t remember the exact last time that I ate meat. This was the process of my meatlessness that took place last March.

I was minding my own business one day washing the dishes and innocently watching Curious George with Parker. Curious George ended while my hands were all sudsy and I happened to catch the first 60 seconds of the PBS news. It showed slaughter house factory workers harassing a cow by prodding it with a forklift. I freaked out, grabbed the remote with my sudsy hands and turned off the TV. Unfortunately (or fortunately) the damage had already been done.

A little background here – I am a bleeding-heart when it comes to animals. The two things on this earth that I cannot abide are animal and child abuse. Seriously, it makes me see red. Ok, back to the story.

After that 60 second clip, I felt sick and every time I closed my eyes, all I could see was that poor cow. I was seriously distraught for days. If I was being honest with myself, I knew that I purposely avoided such things so I could enjoy my filet mignon in peace without thinking of how it made it onto my plate.

I woke up the next day and starting researching humane farms in the surrounding areas. (Incidentally, did you know that you could buy half a cow? You really can, just make sure that you have a large freezer.) So, I went to our local co-op and bought free-range, humanely raised beef and chicken and felt much better about everything. That night, I cooked two lovely steaks, sat down…and couldn’t eat it. Seriously, I just couldn’t eat it. It looked like a dead cow.

And that was how I became a vegetarian. No fanfare, no final meaty meal, nothing. It just became a non-option for me. I slept like an angel that night. Well, not really since Parker woke me up 6 times, but the point is that I would have slept like an angel if I wasn’t a mom to a non-sleeper.

In all honestly, I don’t really remember what meat tastes like and strangely, I don’t miss it. Is it possible that I would one day add it back in? I think that I would consider maybe adding free-range turkey back in, but I don’t think I could ever do cow again. Oh and I don’t hold anything against meat-eaters (my husband and son still eat it), it’s just something that was personal to me. Anyway, happy vegetari-anniversary to me.

One thought on “Vegetatri-anniversary

  1. meg March 8, 2009 / 12:33 am

    happy anniversary. the animals thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

