Parenting: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

As I was perusing some of my older posts, I realized that I share a lot about the joys of parenting. Don’t get me wrong, there are many. Parker is the single most important thing in my life. Everything else is a distant second, third, etc… But, there are definitely some things about parenting that I was not quite prepared for.

The Bad: The sleep thing. Prior to Parker’s birth, I have a distinct recollection of thinking that all babies sleep through the night by 6 months old. Hahahahaha…Hohohohhoho…Heheehehehehehe. I’m laughing to keep from crying. The truth of the matter is that I have not had more than 3 consecutive nights of decent sleep in almost 3 years. I know this because I’ve never been away from Parker for more than 3 nights at a time, which is the only time that I get decent sleep.

In all fairness, Parker is an angel. Truly, he is such a low-maintenance kid who is such a pleasure to be around. He’s easy to please, easy to get along with, doesn’t throw tantrums. You get the point. So, apparently, not sleeping is his vice. If you believe Gandhi or Budda or some other sage person/diety, all of life requires balance. So, not sleeping balances his angelic nature. Or at least that’s what I tell myself at 12am…and 3am…and 5am.

The Ugly: If your child has any contact with other kids, you will pick up every single germ known to man. Sometimes I think that I’m better off licking all of the pens in the doctor’s office waiting room than picking my son up from school. In fact, my right nostril is clogged as I type this and I’ve been fighting a sore throat for days. Gross, I know, but I’m just keeping it real here. I’ve been sick more times in the last year than I have been in the last 10 years combined. It’s true. It stinks. It’s parenting.

The Bottom Line:
The reality is that I can’t imagine my life without the good, the bad and the ugly of parenting. Being “Parker’s Mom” is so much a part of who I am now and most of the time, it’s the best part. That’s not to say that I don’t have the ocassionally wistfulness and envy of my pre-motherhood days, but that’s mainly because I didn’t appreciate it when I had it. You know, the whole youth is wasted on the young thing.

Leave a Reply

