Ode To Watermelon

When I was pregnant with Parker, there was one thing that I couldn’t get enough of. Watermelon (and milkshakes, but we won’t go there). I would buy whole watermelons and consume them in a matter of 24 hours. The Irishman would sit back and watch me in amazement, but I’m sure that was partly because I would balance a giant glass bowl precariously on my huge mound of a belly…trust me, it was a sight.

Even since then, I’ve had an insatiable appetite for watermelon. It’s just so sweet and light and, being comprised mostly of water, so satisfying to eat on a warm day. Since I just bought my first watermelon of the season, I decided to write a haiku in honor of my favorite fruit.

Photobucket

Watermelon:

The juicy red flesh
dripping sweetness down my chin
I could eat five pounds

Listen, I didn’t say it was a good haiku, but a haiku it is none the less. Oh, I also wanted to share a little tip with you. Since the watermelons that are grown this early in the season aren’t particularly sweet, sprinkle a tiny bit of salt on it and you’ll be amazed at the transformation in flavor.

Leave a Reply

