French Toast

Photobucket

I have a confession to make. I have a weakness for a couple of things: McDonald’s french fries, buttered popcorn and Cracker Barrel french toast. In all of my french toast making years, my french toast has never even come close. So, I set out on a mission to duplicate the heavenly goodness. Plus, I’m almost certain that any version I made would be infinitely better for me. It actually took far fewer tries than I anticipated, so of course, now I need to pass on my addiction to all of you. I’m such a giver.

Ok, here are our ingredients: Sourdough bread, 1 egg, 1/2 cup milk, 1 teaspoon sugar, a sprinkle of cinnamon and butter. (These amounts will generally cover 4 slices of bread, so if you’re cooking more than that, just double the amounts.)

Photobucket

First, we’re going to add the milk, egg, sugar and cinnamon into a shallow dish.

Photobucket

Whisk it all together until the egg is incorporated.

Photobucket

Put a pad of butter into your pan.

Photobucket

As the butter begins to melt, drop a slice of sourdough bread into your dish.

Photobucket

Let it soak for 20-30 seconds or so and then flip it.

Photobucket

After another 20-30 seconds, transfer the soaked bread onto your pan. This is done most easily with a wide flat spatula. Cook the slice of french toast for a couple of minutes or until it’s a nice golden brown color.

Photobucket

Cook the second side for another couple of minutes and then slide it onto your plate. Before I cook the next slice, I usually add another pad of butter so that it gets the same lovely golden-brown color. Once all of your slices are cooked and on your plate, pour some pure maple syrup on top and enjoy.

Photobucket

Lord help me, you have no idea how good this is. The sourdough bread is definitely the key here and while you could add grated orange peel or vanilla to your batter, I think it’s fantastic just how it is. While french toast is generally considered a breakfast food, I actually love it for lunch or dinner. In fact, I think that breakfast for dinner is one of the best ideas ever.

Leave a Reply

