Quote Of The Day

“Stupid should be painful.”

A friend of mine says this all of the time and it’s so true. If stupid were painful, maybe people would be more mindful of their actions. My observation of stupidity for today happened when I tried to parallel park this morning. This is how it happened.

I was driving on campus on a narrow road and spotted a parallel parking spot on the right-hand side of the road. I put on my blinker and pulled up parallel to the car in front of the spot that I was going to take (sounds pretty standard, right?). I put the truck into reverse and started to park. The car behind me started laying on the horn and gesturing wildly because apparently the driver thought that she would just swing around me, never mind the fact that as I cut the wheel, the front end of my 2 ton truck would block her access.

I stopped reversing when I heard her horn and I looked into her car and gave her a look like she had sprouted a second head. Her windows were down so I rolled mine down as well. She screamed at me, “What are you doing?!?!” I answered calmly, “I’m parallel parking. Did you skip driving school?”

And I rolled up my window and finished parking. The irony here is that she thought that I was the idiot. I think this pretty much sums up by I have minimal interaction with other people.

P.S. A recipe is coming later today!

Leave a Reply

