Cupcake Bites

Photobucket

***I just found out that the origins of the cake ball/cupcake bites is http://www.bakerella.com. I was probably better off never knowing that her site existed. Wowsa, she’s amazing!

As a general rule, I don’t make elaborate desserts. I don’t see the need for taking the time to make a 15 layer cake when you can get about the same taste making a 2 layer cake (and with hours less work). Sometimes, however, I feel like stepping it up and making something that looks over the top. That’s how I came to try these cupcake bites and let me just tell you, they didn’t disappoint. By the way, did you notice how I said, “that looks over the top?” That’s because these cupcake bites are easy!

They have a couple of steps and some down time in between those steps, so I generally make them on a weekend when I can run errands or fold laundry in between steps. Here’s what you’ll need:

– 1 box of your favorite cake mix (and whatever else you need to make it like eggs and oil)
– 1 container of your favorite frosting
– 2 packages meltable chocolate
– 2 or 3 candy molds
– 1 package candy melts (or more if you want to make multiple color combinations)
– Sprinkles
– M&Ms

This first picture is actually not the beginning of the process. To get here, pick your favorite box cake mix (I used devils food cake) and bake it according to the box directions. Let the cake cool completely and crumble it up in the pan. (Sometimes, I bake the cake the night before and throw it in the fridge). Then, buy your favorite flavor frosting (I used cream cheese) and incorporate the frosting into the cake crumbles with your hands until the cake is moist and the frosting is completely incorporated. When that’s done, it will look like this, which looks like of gross in reality, but tastes like heaven. Plus, it won’t look like this for long.

Photobucket

Now, take a tablespoon and scoop out some cake. You’re going to roll it into a ball and put it onto a cookie sheet. **Note: the size of your cake balls is going to be determined by which candy molds you buy for the next step. You want the ball to just fit into the candy mold, so have the mold nearby in order to determine the perfect size.

Photobucket

You want them all to be roughly uniform in size.

Photobucket

Now, stick the entire tray of cake balls in the freezer for 30 minutes or so. After 30 minutes, you can start getting your assembly line ready for the next step in the process. For this step, you need to buy two or three candy molds from the store. I got these Wilton’s molds from Michaels.

Photobucket

This is what the mold looks like.

Photobucket

Now, we’re going to melt some chocolate. These chocolate wafer’s are made by Wilton’s and I got them from Michael’s also.

Photobucket

Put your wafers in a bowl and microwave them in 30 second intervals (stirring in between each 30 second period) until the chocolate is completely smooth.

Photobucket

Now, fill your mold up halfway with chocolate.

Photobucket

I would do these one at a time until you figure our exactly how much chocolate you need. When you add your cake ball in (these should have just come out of the freezer) the chocolate should just come up around edges when you press down gently. If it comes spilling over the edges, you have too much chocolate.

Photobucket

Once you’ve filled a whole tray, pop it back into the freezer for 5-10 minutes to help firm the chocolate. Once you take it out, just pop out the chocolate and it should look like this. ***Pardon the fuzzy picture or two, but I was trying to move fast since I made about 80 of these cupcakes. I know you won’t hold it against me.

Photobucket

Ok, I hope you’re still with me! Now for the final step in the process. I bought these vanilla flavored candy melts (still Wilton’s and still from Michael’s) in pink and yellow. You can find them in a dozen different colors.

Photobucket

Put them in a microwave-safe dish and heat for 30 second intervals until it’s completely melted (still stirring in between rounds).

Photobucket

Now, we’re going to dip the chocolate cake balls into the melted candy and we’re trying to cover the exposed cake without overlapping our chocolate cup if at all possible.

Photobucket

Once you’ve done that, give it a little shake to get rid of the excess.

Photobucket

I immediately added some sprinkles and an M&Ms on top and once the top gets firm (about 5-10 minutes), they’re ready to serve!

Photobucket

Not only are these little cupcake bites adorable, but they’re also delicious. The cake inside is moist and the chocolate adds a nice firmness of texture. Plus, I love that they’re bite-sized. That’s not to say that I didn’t eat six of these over the course of the day (I mean, I didn’t want to waste the failures), but these would be great for office parties, kid’s birthdays or just to make because it’s fun. Personally, I’m looking forward to using red velvet cake and dipping it in green candy melts for Christmas. The possibilities are endless. Oh, and you’ll look like a total baking rock star in the process.

3 thoughts on “Cupcake Bites

  1. Jessica April 13, 2009 / 1:10 pm

    Cyndy – I just made these last week. Check out http://www.bakerella.com – she puts them on sticks and really takes them to a new level. BTW, I used devil’s food and cream cheese frosting, they were sooo yummy!

  2. Anonymous April 13, 2009 / 3:33 pm

    Yes, these cupcake bites are definitely courtesy of Bakerella and she should get the credit. They are wonderful.

  3. Cyn April 13, 2009 / 6:53 pm

    Oh my Jess, thanks for the bakerella site. That’s going to get me in trouble. She’s amazing!Dear anonymous – another mom at my son’s school made something like these and she described the process to me, but I never knew their origins. I will add a credit line to my post.

Leave a Reply

