Hotel De Ville

Photobucket

The print above is one of my favorite pictures. In fact, I have a huge framed print of it in my living room that I picked up the last time I was in Paris. So of course, I had to go down there to take a couple of pictures myself. I would have loved to have taken them from the same angle, but they had some event going on and had tents set up obscuring the view.

Photobucket

Photobucket

There was a Carousel there, so naturally, Parker took a spin. I’m not sure what’s with his face since he loves riding the Carousels, but it was cold, so perhaps that’s why.

Photobucket

Then, we decided to walk back to our hotel since it was only a 15 minute walk or so. On our way back, we passed the “justice center.”

Photobucket

It used to be a castle and the gothic building that you see behind it was a private church for the residents of the castle. The inside of St. Chapelle is comprised entirely of stained glass and the effect is breathtaking.

Photobucket

Also, on the walk back, I saw sweet little kitty hanging out in her bookstore.

Photobucket

This always makes an impression on me when I’m in Europe. Animals live in their owners shops without causing a fuss and even stray dogs stop at red lights and move with the flow of traffic. I’m sure that such orderliness is born out of the necessity to survive in a huge city, but I always think back to the wild animals I have at home who run with reckless abandon and would chase a squirrel into oblivion if given the chance.

3 thoughts on “Hotel De Ville

  1. Spriggs Family May 18, 2009 / 4:12 pm

    so beautiful! it’s so wonderful that Parker will get to look back at these photographs of how much he got to see growing up!

  2. Cyn May 19, 2009 / 1:39 pm

    Thanks Rhiana! I was so fortunate to see so much of the world growing up that I feel compelled to do the same for Parker.

  3. Lori May 22, 2009 / 2:49 pm

    The stained glass window is amazing! Cyndy! Wonderful pictures!

Leave a Reply

