Tale Of A Rooster

Photobucket

There is a rooster in our village who lives just up the path from us. I don’t know his real name, but my family has christened him as “The Chicken’s Husband.” I actually wrote a short story about him a couple of years ago, but seeing as how I’m sober, I won’t share it with you at this moment.

The Chicken’s Husband crows constantly. Now, being a city girl my entire life, I confess ignorance as to farm animals behave on a day to day basis, but I could have sworn that the one truth I did know was that roosters crow at sunrise. What I never really contemplated before was whether they crowed at other times of the day as well. This rooser does.

Truly, at all hours of the day (and night), you can hear him announcing his domination. Does the blasted bird never sleep?!? This is particularly annoying when I’m trying to lay Parker down for a nap. Just as he’s about to fall asleep, I hear a booming, “Cock-a-doodle-do!!!” Parker imitates this call perfectly with his little head thrown back in earnest and he does it without fail every time he hears the rooster, whether that’s at nap time or 10pm.

At least once a day, I yell with complete conviction, “Damn you Chicken’s Husband!”…but in all honesty, I’ll miss him in 6 months time and I’ll secretly hope that he is around another season to disrupt my sleep and entertain my son.

Leave a Reply

