Breakfast Burritos

Photobucket

My friend Kristina is a genius. Truly she is. A couple of years ago, I was lamenting the fact that the Irishman barely ate breakfast in his haste to get out the door. He isn’t a fan of cereal and I didn’t want to buy frozen breakfast foods because they’re filled with sodium and preservatives. Well, she told me how she makes breakfast burritos in advance and freezes them so that after a quick zap in the microwave, a homemade breakfast is ready every day of the week. See, genius!

So, of course, I’m sharing it with you. I didn’t photograph the first step, but all you have to do is scramble eggs in one pan and brown sausage in another. If I have salsa on hand, I’ll add a couple of tablespoons to a pan and cook off the liquid for 4 minutes or so. Then, I’ll add in the eggs to give them a southwestern flair. Another tip is to use Jimmy Dean’s Sage sausage. From what I remember (since I haven’t had meat in 18 months), it has a great flavor and the Irishman still prefers it.

The other ingredients that you need are flour tortillas and shredded cheese. For 8 tortillas, I generally need 6 eggs, 1 cup of shredded cheese and the entire roll of sausage.

I generally lay a big piece of saran wrap down on the counter and make an assembly line. Then, I add the eggs, sausage and cheese.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Be careful not to overfill each burrito because you want them to roll up completely. Cut a square of saran wrap and put your rolled burrito inside it before wrapping it tightly.

Photobucket

Then, just stack your burritos in the freezer. When you’re ready to eat one, heat it in the microwave for 45-50 seconds and enjoy! Trust me, the carnivores in your life will thank you.

Leave a Reply

