Best Of Both Worlds

When I got pregnant, the biggest intrigue was what the little bean would look like. I mean, we knew that my genetic makeup was dominant (with my dark brown hair and eyes and olive skin), but it was possible that some of the Irishman’s fairness (blonde hair, green eyes, white boy skin) could also make an appearance.

Interestingly, while Parker was pretty “tan” and had dark hair at birth, both have gotten progressively lighter so that now, he has the best of both worlds. I’d like to introduce exhibit A.

Photobucket

As you can see, the skin on his upper arm and back are just as pale as the white boy Irishman…but wait! Is that a farmer’s tan I see? It certainly is and the skin on his forearm and hand are decidedly tan and olive.

I’m relieved because I won’t have to worry about him burning while crossing the street. At the same time, his lighter, auburn hair will make his pale skin of the winter look natural as well. I always end up looking goth…or jaundiced.

2 thoughts on “Best Of Both Worlds

  1. Buzzzzy Bee June 19, 2009 / 3:33 pm

    Very cute picture Cyndy! Where do you go swimming?

  2. Cyndy June 19, 2009 / 8:52 pm

    Thanks! This was actually at my mother-in-law's house, but Parker loves going to Trousdell and playing in their activity pool.

Leave a Reply

