Alternate Reality

The last 4 days have been such a new experience. At the moment, it’s just me and the cats in our new home. We’ve had dogs for over 5 years and Parker is going to be 3 in November, so it’s been almost 6 years since I haven’t had pups or a toddler in the house.

In case you’ve never visited us, the dog + child scenario has the potential of creating a lot of noise. Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t remotely unpleasant. It’s the sound of a full and busy house, but I’m quite certain that the second you step outside and back into to your own reality, you would notice a glaring absence of chaos.

The first couple of days here, I had the TV on non-stop because it was just too quiet. Furthermore, my heart felt Parker’s absence and while I know that he’s doing great and having fun, it was still an adjustment to not have him in my presence 24/7. Interestingly, the TV was comforting to the cats as well. Lu Lu Belle would hide until I turned the TV on and then she would squeeze out of whatever crack she wedged herself in to come settle in my lap.

By day 3, we all felt more comfortable. In fact, I think the cats might be a little too comfortable.

Photobucket

Without dogs or Parker here, they can wander the house and lounge on the couches without fear of 2-year-old hands “loving” them or Nona herding them to whatever location she thinks is cat appropriate.

Photobucket

I had high hopes that this table would be my baking area. I scratched that as soon as Lu Lu claimed the spot as her perch. Since our house is on a hill, the two windows that flank this table overlook the side street and our backyard. She can see people, birds, and pretty much keep tabs on the neighborhood. In other words, she’s there for life.

It’s going to be a sad day in the life of the kitties when I bring the dogs up. The good news is that this house is twice the size of our previous one, so the cats and dogs will each have their territories and plenty of room to perch and roam.

Leave a Reply

