Growlers

Photobucket

This my dears is a growler of beer. It’s the way that you bring beer home from a micro-brewery. It’s roughly the equivalent of a six pack and it keeps for a week or so once it’s been opened.

According to Wikipedia, “Growlers got their name from the sound that the CO2 made when it escaped from the lid as the beer sloshed around. It likely dates back to the late 19th century when fresh beer was carried from the local pub to one’s home by means of a small-galvanized pail.”

We have two growlers – one for the Irishman’s ever changing selection of brews and one for me. My growler (shown above) only ever has a single beer in it. Black Forrest Stout.

Photobucket

I usually only pour half a pint or so because I like my beer very cold so I’d rather refill it more often than have to drink even mildly warm beer.

I’m really looking forward to our beer drinking friends and family coming up for a visit. We’re going to take them down to our local micro-brewery so that they can sample all of the different varieties and pick the one they’d like to drink. To me, that is so much more personal than going to the store and picking up a six pack. Plus, we’re supporting a local business in the process that’s operated by a husband and wife team.

Leave a Reply

