Frijoles Negros

Photobucket

Black beans and rice is one of the simplest meals you can make. It’s so filling and flavorful and packed with protein. Having been raised in South Florida, I happen to love the way that Cubans make their frijoles negros. This recipe is my interpretation of Cuban black beans and rice and it also happens to come together in about 20 minutes. In fact, the rice generally takes longer than the beans to cook.

This is what we’re going to need for the frijoles negros:

2 cans of black beans
1 large onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 teaspoons garlic salt (you can use regular salt instead)
2 teaspoons cumin
2-3 tablespoons red wine vinegar (depending on your taste)

First things first – get your rice going. I invested in a rice cooker a couple of months ago (I think it was about $20) and my favorite thing about it is that it automatically shuts off when the rice is done. This is wonderful because different types of rice require different cooking times and I can never remember what they are. So, I just look at the back of the package to see what the recommended rice to water ratio is and I let it do it’s thing.

Photobucket

After I dice the onion, I saute it in some olive oil for about 5-7 minutes, or until the onion is soft and translucent. About half way through, I add in the minced garlic.

Photobucket

Now, go ahead and add in your black beans (juice and all) and as well as the garlic salt (or regular salt) and cumin.

Photobucket

I usually let it simmer for about 10 minutes or so and then I add in the red wine vinegar. I like a lot of vinegar in my black beans, so I put in about 3 tablespoons, but if you’ve never added vinegar before, I’d err closer to 2 tablespoons.

Photobucket

I generally just put the heat on low and I let it hang out on the burner until the rice is done. When it’s time to plate up, I put a thin layer of rice on the bottom of my plate and add a couple of heaping spoonfuls of black beans on top.

Photobucket

When I made these the other night, I paired it with my Cuban inspired grilled cheese on the side and it was wonderful. Whip up a batch of mojitos and it’s almost like you’re in Little Havana. Oh and did I mention that the entire meal costs about $5? That, my friends, is right up my alley these days.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Frijoles Negros

  1. Vanessa July 29, 2009 / 6:14 pm

    If you can find Creole seasoning it will make your dish that much easier. Just bring the beans to a boil add in about a 1/4 cup per each can and it's done. Tastes like true cuban style black beans!

  2. Cyn July 30, 2009 / 1:05 pm

    Oooh, thanks Vanessa, I'll definitely have to try that.

Leave a Reply

