Meatball Subs

Photobucket

Sometimes, I just don’t feel like cooking. It’s shocking, but it’s true. Some days, I may have something wonderful planned for dinner, but over the course of a long day, I get home and the last thing I want to do is stand in the kitchen.

On days like those, I make meatball subs. They are my saving grace when I have hungry boys who, left to their own devices, would eat either pizza or ramen noodles.

It’s super easy. I just put half a jar of spaghetti sauce in a small sauce pan. I drop in 8 or so frozen meatballs (either homemade or store bought) and I let the meatballs simmer in the sauce for 25 minutes.

When the meatballs are done, I toast hoagie rolls in the toaster oven until they’re lightly browned. Then, I load the hoagie with meatballs, adding a tablespoon of extra sauce on top. Finally, I grate provolone cheese on top and sprinkle the finished product with parmesan cheese. (I grate the provolone instead of adding slices because the grated cheese melts simply from the heat of the meatballs whereas the slices need additional heat either from a microwave or toaster oven).

And that’s it. The boys get a hearty meal and I get to curl up on the couch with cereal and a glass of wine. Pure bliss on long days.

Leave a Reply

