It’s All About The Sink

One question I get a lot from people is, “How do you do it all?” While I’d like to think that it’s my superpowers that give me more hours in a day or allow me to move at superhuman speed, it really comes down to one thing.

Photobucket

I don’t allow dishes to touch the bottom of my sink. I wash them immediately and if there happen to be dishes in the sink when I walk by, I do them as soon as I see them. I’m sure that some people may be skeptical that a clean sink is the key to making the most of the day, but of course, it’s bigger than the sink.

It’s staying ahead of the game. It’s not procrastinating. It’s doing something as soon as you realize that it needs to be done. I also don’t turn the TV on if there isn’t something specific that I want to watch. There’s something about the TV that sucks you in. Before you know it, you’ve seen 3 Lifetime movies, but you haven’t done a single load of laundry. Talk about a time warp!

Do I always keep it together? No, certainly not. I have bad weeks and in the first year of Parker’s life, it seemed like I had months of total chaos. However, when I looked back on those weeks and months, it all started with one thing. A full sink, which was the translation of an “I’ll get to it later” mentality.

So, that’s my secret. Do everything in your power to stay ahead of the game because in my experience, the state of your living space and the state of your mind are often running the same course.

One thought on “It’s All About The Sink

  1. Speck September 2, 2009 / 1:22 pm

    Check out this site. Very helpful and starts with a clean sink!! :)http://www.flylady.net/pages/begin_babysteps.asp

Leave a Reply

