Halleluah…and Shrimp Sandwiches

Praise sweet baby Jesus, we’re back online! I almost fell out of the chair this morning when it connected. Whew! Ok, so back to business. I have recipes piling up that I need to share with you folks, so I better get cracking. First up, my version of the delicious Charleston Shrimp, lettuce and tomato sandwiches.

Photobucket

I’m not quite sure why I never thought to make this myself, but that’s one of my favorite things about eating out; you get so many great ideas!

Now, first things first. After you’ve peeled and deveined your shrimp, saute them in a little bit of olive oil. I seasoned them with salt, pepper and a sprinkle of chili powder. If I’d had either Old Bay or Creole seasoning, I probably would have used that, but the chili powder added a nice little kick.

Photobucket

Shrimp cooks very quickly, so you don’t want to cook them more than a minute or so on each side. The second that they curl up and turn pink, take them off of the heat.

Photobucket

Next, we’re going to toast some bread. I happen to be in love with breads that come from Rudy’s Organic Bakery. The Rosemary and Olive Oil makes the best grilled cheese on the planet, but for this sandwich, I went with the Country French.

Photobucket

Just go ahead and toast a couple of slices. While those are toasting, get a nice firm tomato and slice out two or three round slices (depending on the size of the tomato). Finally, you’re going to need some lettuce and mayo.

Once your bread is toasted, let’s pile it up! I start with a healthy layer of mayo and then I add my tomato. Go ahead and add salt and pepper to your tomato for another layer of flavor. Then, add your lettuce and finally, top it off with the shrimp.

Photobucket

Now, add the other slice of bread on top, press it down firmly (so the shrimp don’t fall out on the first bite) and slice it in half.

Photobucket

This simple sandwich is so delicious and it comes together in less than 5 minutes. If you aren’t a vegetarian, throw on some bacon to take it to the next level. If I had a restaurant, this would definitely be on the menu, but since I don’t, I’ll just have to serve this to my friends and family when they come to visit. So go ahead, add some shrimp to your lunch – you won’t regret it. Oh and in case you were wondering, 1 lb. of shrimp (about 24 medium shrimp) made 4 sandwiches. That’s less than $3 per sandwich. I love it when that happens.

Leave a Reply

