Pumpkin Gingerbread

Photobucket

First of all, let me say that if I was going to open a bakery, this would be one of my star attractions. I am obsessed with these muffins. They are perfectly moist and have just the right hint of spices without being overwhelming. Here’s what you need.

4 ounces cream cheese, softened (I use whipped)
1/2 a stick of butter, softened
1.25 cups white sugar
2 eggs
1 can of pumpkin
1.75 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground cloves
1 teaspoon allspice
1 teaspoon ginger

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Put softened cream cheese, butter, and sugar in your mixer. Cream together well. Add in the eggs one at a time and beat until blended. Next, mix in your can of pumpkin.

In another bowl combine flour, soda, baking powder, salt and all of your spices. It’s really important that you spoon your flour into your measuring cup because you want the muffins to be light. So literally, I take a spoon and add in the flour to my measuring cup one spoonful at a time, shaking it lightly to make it level until I’ve reached my 1 and 3/4 cups. Stir the dry ingredients until thoroughly mixed. Then, pour all at once over the batter.

If you’re making muffins, bake for 20-25 minutes. If you decide to make a loaf instead, it will take more like 45-55 minutes. Anyway, just bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Seriously though, these are so delicious and during the holiday season, they would make a great hostess gift or addition to a potluck. I usually make a double batch – one to eat and one to share…and I usually don’t get around to sharing. Is that bad?

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Gingerbread

  1. Lori October 2, 2009 / 4:47 pm

    I am printing out this recipe now! I cant wait to try them Cyndy!

  2. mamakai October 12, 2009 / 9:56 pm

    oooh I have leftover pumpkin from making my pie today, I might just have to try these! one can of pumpkin, er, how many cups is that?

  3. Cyn October 12, 2009 / 11:16 pm

    I usually use about 2.5 cups, but they would turn out great with as little as 1.5 cups or so.

Leave a Reply

