Philadelphia

Philly was an interesting city. With the pervasive sewer smell and the large transient population of homeless folks and prostitutes walking past swanky hotels and chic restaurants, it was everything I expected it to be. While the city attempts to rival New York and Chicago for big city swagger, there’s something very blue-collar about it. Kind of like a $2 hooker in a real fur coat, the gloss of the city doesn’t entirely cover it’s seediness.

With that said, we had gorgeous weather and I got to do everything that I had set out to accomplish.

Photobucket

I have no idea why this fountain was spewing green water. It looked kind of like anti-freeze. Perhaps the locals were green with envy of the Yankee victory the night before?

Photobucket

This is Independence Hall, where the Declaration of Independence was debated and adopted. Being there was seriously cool.

Photobucket

And here we have George Washington, who had very well-turned calves if the statue is an accurate assessment of his physique. I hear that well-turned calves were all the rage back in the 1700s.

After getting thoroughly searched (seriously, they weren’t messing around), we walked around to the back of Independence Hall. They have a statute of Barry, an Irishman who was the founder of the Navy.

Photobucket

He’s pointing into the distance. In fact, a large number of statutes all around the city are also pointing. To the coast? To the invading British army? Who knows, but I couldn’t stop myself from looking in the direction of their pointed finger every time I saw a statute.

Now, let’s get to the good stuff. The Liberty Bell is kept in a building fairly close to Independence Hall. You first walk through a small museum of sorts that spells out the history of the Liberty Bell. This display caught my eye because of the Greek word on top, which roughly means both freedom and liberty.

Photobucket

I flew through the museum and make a b-line for the prize.

Photobucket

“Proclaim Liberty throughout all the Land unto all the Inhabitants thereof.”

Finally, I walked two miles to get to this.

Photobucket

The statue was much larger than I thought it was going to be, particularly given Stallone’s small real life size.

Photobucket

It was such a gorgeous day and Rocky was very inspiring. You know what’s coming next.

Photobucket

I got to run the steps! Random school children were laughing at me, but I didn’t care. Some things are beyond embarrassment.

Here’s the view from the top.

Photobucket

Feeling content and fulfilled, I happily walked the two miles back into town to eat some sushi. Mission accomplished.

2 thoughts on “Philadelphia

  1. Eva Gallant November 10, 2009 / 3:13 am

    Thanks so much fot the tour of Philadelphia! I was blog browsing and landed here. Hope you'll pay my blog a visit some time!

  2. Cyn November 10, 2009 / 7:54 pm

    Thanks for stopping by Eva – I love blog browsing. I'll definitely swing by your blog.

Leave a Reply

