Orlando Bound

Tomorrow, I’m flying to Orlando to take my first real mini-vacation in ages. I’m not going for work, I’m not going with Parker and I won’t have the dogs in tow. I’m flying alone to spend 3 days with my brother, which I don’t think has ever happened before. Just some good old sibling bonding time.

We’re running the OUC half marathon together in what will most likely be chilly, rainy weather. But you know what? I don’t mind at all. I’m going to pick up a running hat and some water resistant sleeves today and that will be about the extent of my accomodation to the weather. Of course, I’ll send happy thoughts for sunny weather, but we’re committed to running this rain or shine.

And then on Sunday, we’re going to watch football. And do nothing else. I can’t tell you how thrilled I am by an entire day of lounging around and doing absolutely nothing, but watching the tube. It’s been over three years since I’ve done that.

Mini-vacations (even ones where you’re running 13.1 miles in the cold rain) are a blessing indeed.

Leave a Reply

