Oatmeal

Photobucket

Before I lived in a state that actually has four seasons, I never understood the purpose of oatmeal. I mean, why would you bother to take the time to heat oats up when you could have cold cereal and milk in a heartbeat? In fact, I don’t eat any of the same breakfast foods here that I did in Florida. There’s just something wrong about eating something cold first thing in the morning when you’ve already been forced from your warm cocoon of a bed and thrust into the harsh realities of the frigid morning. That may sound overly dramatic, but at 5am when it’s in the teens, I feel very “woe is me.”

So, I decided to make oatmeal. Great. But I didn’t have a clue what to top it with. I had already decided against the sugar laden pre-sweetened varieties and settled on the Irish Steel-Cut Oatmeal (fast cooking of course), so I went out looking for inspiration and went no further than the local Starbucks. Since I almost never buy anything other than beverages there, I’d never had the occasion to look at the toppings they served with their “Perfect Oatmeal.” So last time I was there, I took a peek at it.

It included brown sugar, cranberries, raisins, pecans and walnuts. Sounded good to me and since I had just bought a bunch of dried fruits and nuts for my super salads, I gave it a whirl. It was warm, it was filling and it had a stick to your ribs quality that kept me satiated all morning. Thank you, Starbucks, for your inspiration and your holiday peppermint mocha.

One thought on “Oatmeal

  1. Jessica December 16, 2009 / 6:34 pm

    Cyndy, my dad makes a baked oatmeal that is out of this world…let me know if you'd like the recipe

Leave a Reply

