Roasted Acorn Squash

Photobucket

The Food Network has always been a source of culinary inspiration for me. When Parker was an infant and I was working from home, I needed something on the TV that was light, fun and didn’t require a lot of attention on my part. As such, I alternated between Food Network, HGTV and The Golden Girls. Life was both simple and hectic at the same time back in those days.

Anyway, I found myself watching the Food Network last week as I was folding laundry and Sunny Anderson was roasting acorn squash. She had put a pad of butter and a tablespoon of brown sugar in the center and let it do it’s thing. It was super easy and she seemed to enjoy it (although I’m sure they would roll their eyes ecstatically even if it tasted like cow manure), so I thought I would give it a try.

I can honestly say that prior to last week, I had never purchased acorn squash in my life. But, as instructed on the happy Food Network, I cut it in half lengthwise, scooped out the seeds and plopped a 1/2 tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of brown sugar in the middle of each half.

I put it in a 400 degree oven and I spooned the melting butter/sugar mixture over the edges of the squash about every 15 minutes or so. I let it cook for an hour. (It’s done when your fork easily sinks into the flesh of the squash.)

And then I took it out. And I let it cool a little bit. And I took a bite. And my eyes rolled ecstatically into the back of my head. It was simple and simply delicious. And that is the story of how acorn squash and I met.

Leave a Reply

