Pineapple Zucchini Bread

Photobucket

This past weekend, I sat down and went through 13 Cooking Light magazines. I pulled out the recipes that I thought I would definitely try and I gave the leftover magazine to Parker to use for Arts and Crafts projects. He had a blast cutting out pictures and I found it interesting that he was drawn to cutting out pictures of people instead of objects. Well, he did cut out every cookie that he came across. Poor deprived child.

Anyway, the point of the above rambling is that I now have a stack of recipes to make. If it gets a “thumbs up” from the boys, I’m passing it along to you. Recipe #1 of the Cooking Light Recipe Testing Extravaganza was this pineapple zucchini bread. The Irishman has been lamenting that Parker isn’t getting enough veggies in his diet (which I do have to agree with), so I thought I would try the sneaky route that seems to be all the rage these day. By adding crushed pineapple to the zucchini bread, it adds a lovely sweetness. The bonus here is that I can assert that it’s “pineapple bread” without lying.

Here’s the recipe for you and remember, this is coming to you directly from Cooking Light, which means that it is a modified, lighter version of the recipe without sacrificing taste. My mom got me a subscription about 5 years ago and has renewed it for me every year. One of the best magazines around (along with Men’s Health which is both informative and has pictures of ridiculously built men). But, I digress.

Ingredients:

1.5 cups all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 large egg
1 cup sugar
1 cup grated zucchini (1 medium zucchini)
1/3 cup canola oil
1/4 cup egg substitute (like Egg Beaters)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 can crushed pineapple in juice, drained

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Combine flour, baking soda, salt, baking powder and cinnamon in a bowl. Mix well and set aside. Beat egg in a mixer until foamy, then add in sugar, zucchini, oil, egg substitute and vanilla. Once well blended, add in flour mixture until just combined.

Next, fold in crushed pineapple and spoon batter into a 9×5 inch loaf pan. Shockingly, I don’t own any loaf pans, so I just baked it in my trusty oval shaped ovenware. Bake for about an hour (until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean).

This was really a lovely bread. It was incredibly moist and flavorful. Next time, I’ll double the recipe and freeze half of it. I’m particularly thrilled that Parker has been scarfing it down. When he first tried it, I was lurking in the corner like a cooking villain spying to see whether he ate it. After I heard his characteristic, “Mmmmmmmm, mmmmmmmm, mmmmmmm” that he keeps up for the duration of the meal when he’s enjoying the food, I chuckled an evil little laugh and mentally plotted my next vegetable coup.

Leave a Reply

