Vistas

Photobucket

This is the view from our local pizza place. It’s been 6 months since we’ve moved here and I still can’t get over the sweeping mountain views that greet you from every direction. I looked at the other diners in puzzlement – was I the only one overwhelmed by the vista outside of the windows?

And this…

Photobucket

…was taken in a friend’s driveway. The curvy (icy!) road, the tall, bare trees and the blanket of snow made for such a beautiful scene. I walk around like a permanent tourist, with my camera in hand and my eyes to the horizon. I may look slightly foolish or aloof to the locals, but I hope that no matter how many years we have the pleasure of calling this place home, I never lose the wonderment that I’ve felt this first year. Regardless of the temperature or the season, western North Carolina is simply breathtaking.

Leave a Reply

