Thai Coconut Curry Shrimp

Photobucket

After all of the Irishman-lovin’ comfort food that I’ve been making in recent weeks (and years!), I decided that this week was going to be all about what I wanted to eat. Naturally, I’ll make enough for the Irishman to eat as well, but if I know him, he’ll be sneaking hot dogs and chili before the week is out. But you know what? Who cares! I’m making Thai Coconut Curry Shrimp.

Seriously, this recipe has my name written all over it. It’s spicy, exotic and bovine-free. Oh, and it comes together in about 8 minutes. Perfect. Since this dish is served with rice, it really takes only as long as the rice takes to cook. I am all about weeknight meals that feel like Saturday dinners.

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 lb. of peeled, deveined shrimp
1/2 cup finely chopped onion
1/4 cup choppen green onions
1/3 cup light coconut milk
1/2 teaspoon Red Curry Paste (if you want it mild – I put 2 teaspoons in mine)
1 Tablespoon fresh basil (I did 1 teaspoon dried)
1 teaspoon sugar
2 teaspoons fish sauce (I didn’t have this, but I’ll buy it next time)

If you’re serving this with rice, go ahead and get that started first. Okay, now don’t blink or you’ll miss this recipe coming together! Add about a tablespoon of oil to your pan. Heat it over medium-high heat and throw in the chopped white onion. Add the curry paste and saute a couple of minutes. Add in the sugar, saute another minute. Now, add in the shrimp (I cut each shrimp in half) and cook for about 3 minutes. Finally, add in the coconut milk, fish sauce, basil and green onions – cook about minute.

Aaaaaaaaand viola! Yup, that’s it. I dish this up with the rice on the bottom and the curry shrimp (and sauce) ladled on top. This was G-O-O-D! The sauce is a great blend of spicy and sweet and the shrimp are perfectly complemented by it. I love how the rice soaks up all of the leftover goodness so that you don’t leave any on your plate. And the Irishman? Well, he thought that it was, “Alright.” I smote him with my eyes and then I disregarded him entirely as I curled my toes in anticipation of the next bite. Chick food rules!

Leave a Reply

