Open-Faced Tuna and Artichoke Melt

Photobucket

This delicious sandwich is courtesy of my friend, Jude. It originated as a Weight Watchers recipe and she and her family have been making it for years. When I first looked at the ingredients, I was intrigued (and slightly alarmed) that it didn’t call for mayonnaise. I did, however, trust Jude’s judgment so onward I went with the mayo-free tuna melt. Thank the Lord above that I did – it was so delightfully tasty! Big thanks to my buddy Jude for passing it along. I don’t think that I’ll ever use mayonnaise in my tuna again.

Okay folks, here’s what you need:

1/2 cup canned artichoke hearts (packed in water, not oil), drained and chopped
1 Tb lemon juice
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 tsp italian seasoning
1/8 tsp black pepper
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper (I used 1/2 tsp for more of a kick)
6 oz albacore tuna (packed in water), drained and flaked
2 large slices of wheat bread (I used a hoagie roll)
3 Tbsp grated parmesan cheese (I only used 1 Tbsp)
1/4 cup sliced green onions

First, preheat the broiler. I used the one in my toaster oven and it worked great. Next, place the bread on a baking sheet.

Now, mix everything (except the cheese together in a bowl. Pile however much of the mixture you want onto each half of the bread. Since I used an open hoagie roll, I have enough tuna leftover to make another half of a sandwich.

Once your bread is loaded up, sprinkle on the parmesan cheese. Broil the sandwich for 5 minutes or until golden brown.

Seriously, please go and make this. I want you all to join me in my tuna melt revolution. I just can’t believe that I was this late to the game!

Leave a Reply

