The Best Pizza.

Photobucket

The Irishman went to Tallahassee on a solo trip this weekend. His trip included sleeping, beer drinking and general merriment with his friends. While I wished him well on his trip, it’s always taxing on the single parent who is left behind to care for and entertain the munchkin. So, even though he was only gone for 2 days and 6 hours, I heaved a sigh of relief when I heard his key in the door. Reinforcements had arrived.

And when I looked down at what he was carrying in his arms, it nearly brought tears of joy to my eyes. He brought pizza, but not just any pizza. Momo’s Pizza. Momo’s is a Tallahassee staple. It’s New York style pizza that has melty, stringy cheese and a thin, crisp crust. Add in just the right amount of lightly spiced tomato sauce and you have virtual pizza perfection.

They simply don’t have a good New York style pizza here and I’m incredibly impressed that the Irishman drove 400 miles with that pizza sitting next to him without consuming the entire thing (he did have two slices, bless his heart). Now, I don’t like cold pizza. In fact, I pretty much only like pizza when it’s fresh out of the oven. If you do too, then I have a trick to share with you.

It’s something that I picked up years ago watching a random Rachel Ray episode. She claimed that the best way to reheat pizza was to put it in a large skillet and heat it over medium heat until the cheese melted. I had always been a toaster oven or microwave kind of re-heater, so I tested her skillet method the first chance I got…and I’ll be damned if I could tell the difference between my skillet heated pizza and the fresh-out-of-the-oven version that it had been a mere 24 hours before.

So as I sit here typing this, I’m enjoying my second slice of heaven. It’s a caloric nightmare, but in case I needed yet another reason to love running, I have 22 miles slated for this weeks training plan – translation: guilt-free pizza consumption. Life, my friends, is good.

2 thoughts on “The Best Pizza.

  1. Kasey February 22, 2010 / 6:44 pm

    That must be a huge skillet as Momo's sells "slices as big as your head" 🙂

  2. Cyn February 23, 2010 / 1:17 am

    Yup, even using my biggest skillet, I had to cut it in half!

Leave a Reply

