Running Into Oblivion

Photobucket

Yesterday was one of those days. You know the ones I’m talking about – when it seems like everyone is trying to make your job more difficult. Of course, my walking obstacles come in the form of disrespectful students. They’re usually seniors who thing that they know everything there is to know at the ripe old age of 21. I know what they’re thinking because I too was one of “those” students about a decade ago. Unfortunately, that doesn’t endear them to me when they turn the know-it-all-attitude in my direction. I had so much pent up aggression by 2pm, that I knew my options were gym or bust.

I chose the gym. I knew that I had to work off this mood before I went home or it would follow me well into the evening as I chewed over each frustrating conversation that I had earlier. So, I did what I do best. I cranked up the iPod, cranked up the speed on the treadmill until I could barely keep up and I kick my own…well, you know the rest.
For me, running is completely cathartic. I can literally run myself into oblivion until my legs are no longer willing to go the distance. When I’m going as fast as I can for any sustained period of time, there is no thought to what’s stressing me out. The only thought in my head is to keep one foot in front of the other and to keep moving at all costs. Truth be told, I ran all out for about 60 minutes. I think I crammed in about 6.5 miles (one full mile more than my standard 60 minute run). I ran until I literally couldn’t feel my legs.
And then I went to the free weights. I piled on about 10-30 lbs. more than usual and I did as many reps as I could manage until the burn overwhelmed me. I’m certain I grunted, but I didn’t care. I was on the warpath. I barely noticed that anyone else was there. I was just doing my damnedest to stay one step ahead of my fatigue until it was all I could do to stand up and walk out of there.
You know what? It worked. I had literally run and lifted my way into oblivion. It was as if I had hopped in my car and driven for hundreds of miles with the pedal to the medal. I left the gym victorious and feeling more than a little smug. The little boogers could get under my skin, but they couldn’t stay there for long. It may take have taken me a good 20 minutes of grunting and groaning to heave my tired muscles out of bed this morning, but at least I slept well.
Leave a Reply

