Culinary Cheating

Photobucket

Last week was totally nuts. My schedule was thrown off by meetings and appointments and it was all I could do to tackle each deadline as it came. I was on campus late every day and ended up going in 5 days instead of my usual three. As a result, I didn’t have time to put my usual thoughtfulness into each meal. So, I did what I consider culinary cheating. Please see exhibit A above.

I had chicken breasts thawed, but lacked the mental capacity to think of anything creative to do with them. So, I preheated the oven to 400 degrees, laid out a large piece of foil, sliced the breast in half and added the following ingredients: drizzle of olive oil, juice of 1/2 a lemon, oregano, salt and pepper. Then, I folded the foil and sealed it tight to create a foil packed, slid it on a cookie sheet and baked it for 50 minutes or so.

When the chicken had 10 minutes left to cook, I make a box of Stove Top stuffing in a sauce pan (replacing the water it called for with broth) and heated up a can of corn. As I plated it up, I cringed at the lack of thought that went into planning the meal and at the utter lack of creativity involved. Not surprisingly, the Irishman was thrilled with the offering. This was what he considers a complete meal: 1 meat + 1 starch + 1 veggie (all of which he could name and easily identify) = happiness for an American boy. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

