Best Friends

Photobucket

Here is Parker with his best friend, Beck. Parker and Beck share a last name. This might explain while they both thought that they were brothers upon meeting. Clever kiddos. Beck and Parker are roughly the same size (Parker is slightly taller and heavier) and more importantly, they have the same level of exuberance. Man, do these kids run like maniacs around the playground! They go to the same preschool and their teacher assures us that they’re double the trouble on the days when they’re both there. While I feel a twinge of parental guilt that my son is one of the more active children there, I secretly applaud his independence. Don’t let “the man” hold you down boys! Be free!
Okay, so I got a little carried away there, but seriously, I feel that children should be children. Respectful, but uninhibited when it comes to creativity and imagination. If a wanted a droid, I would have stuck with my Cabbage Patch kids.
Well, the boys are going to be separated for the month of March while Parker vacations in Florida with the grandparents and Beck continues on with his usual schedule up here. Apparently, Beck is convinced that he’s going to Florida too. I don’t envy Beck’s mother once he realizes that is not the case. Poor kiddo. Parker is, thankfully, too uber excited about seeing the grandparents to realize that he’ll be without his partner in crime for an extended period of time.
I can only imagine that this part of parenting gets harder and harder the older the kids get. Parker currently views each trip as a big adventure. In a handful of years, the Irishman and I are going to be the villains who are dragging him kicking and screaming away from his friends. I know this because that’s exactly what transpired as soon as I hit my teens and my parents still insisted that we go to Greece every summer. The nerve of them!
Anyway, wish us luck that separation anxiety doesn’t set in. I really want him to have a great time during this warm weather sojourn.
2 thoughts on “Best Friends

  1. Melissa March 8, 2010 / 4:56 pm

    Hopefully my dad is reading this and realizes I was not the only spoiled teenager that was angry she was being dragged to foreign countries for the summer away from her friends. Island hopping in the Bahamas was worse for me because there were no freshwater showers!! Such a brat I was 😉

  2. Cyn March 11, 2010 / 7:01 pm

    We were horrible, weren't we? I am fully expecting the same from Parker. Thankfully, we're still "cool" for the next handful of years.

Leave a Reply

