Shrimp Salad

Photobucket

So, you may have noticed that I post a lot of shrimp recipes on here. There’s a good reason for that – shrimp are healthy (less than 100 calories per serving), nutritious (18 grams of protein and 15% of your daily iron) and cook in under 4 minutes. Plus, it’s such an easy addition to so many things.

For example, I regularly make a simple side salad for dinner. I just buy the organic bagged salad that already has shredded carrot and 3 different types of lettuce and then I just add some diced onions and top it with an olive oil vinaigrette. Well, this past week, I got a great deal on a 2 lb. bag of frozen peeled and deveined shrimp (it was only $10). I got the inspiration to add shrimp to my salad watching a Red Lobster commercial during a rerun of the Golden Girls. It looked so good with the steaming shrimp and the crisp salad that I decided to make one immediately.

30 minutes before I wanted to eat, I just put 10 frozen shrimp into a bowl of water and let them thaw. Then, I drained them and seasoned them with Old Bay seasoning and sauteed them in a skillet with a bit of olive oil on medium high heat. For medium sized shrimp, let them cook for a maximum of 2 minutes per side. Then, just assemble your salad as you normally would and add your shrimp on top. That’s it! A super simple, low-fat protein boost to an everyday salad.

Leave a Reply

