Taco Salad

Photobucket

In a mixed household (vegetarian and carnivore), serving a “build your own” type of meal makes it much easier to please everyone at dinner time. Homemade pizzas are a hit around here as are taco nights and baked potato nights. In my opinion, taco salads are ridiculously easy to throw together and I almost always have all of the ingredients on hand. Plus, usually when I crave something from my meat-eating days, it’s the seasonings and not the meat itself that I miss –like buffalo sauce, barbecue sauce and spicy taco seasoning to name a few.

For the boys, I brown a pound of ground beef and throw in a (low sodium) taco seasoning packet, cooking it according to the package directions. For my protein source, I drain and rinse a can of kidney beans, which I’ll sneak onto the boys’ plates as well. Other salad fixings include lettuce (of course), shredded cheese, diced onions, black olives, jalapeños and crushed tortilla chips.

For the dressing, I just like to add a spoonful of salsa and a spoonful of sour cream (I prefer Breakstone’s reduced fat) and give it all a good mix. That’s pretty much it. It’s nice to have some easy meals to balance out my crazy kitchen experiments and lets face it, most weeknights, I’m just motivated to get something healthy on the table.

Leave a Reply

