Simple Hits The Spot

Photobucket

If you’re like me, you’re more prone to reaching for unhealthy foods when you’re ravenous and impatient. Before my meal-planning days, I used to come in the door from work and grab a bag of crackers or chips to munch on while standing at the open fridge trying to figure out what to make for dinner. And while I’ve since gotten smarter about planning and prepping our meals in advance, I still have long days where I let myself get hungrier than I’d like.
To guard against the “reaching for crap” moments, I keep a list on the fridge of healthy and easy to throw-together snacks. One of my favorite things to throw together for myself and the boys is vanilla Greek yogurt, all-natural granola and sliced strawberries. At about 300 calories and 20 grams of protein per serving, this makes a great breakfast or snack that will stay with you for hours.
I also always have a couple of high fiber, high protein cereals on hand (like Kashi’s Go Lean Crunch) either to snack on by itself or to have in a bowl with milk. Some other things that make an appearance on my snack list are toast with peanut butter and honey, raw veggies, a piece of light Laughing Cow cheese and real granola bars (not the sticky, sweet varieties they try to pass off as healthy).
With a little bit of planning and a couple good choices here and there, it’s easy to shave 300-500 calories off of your daily consumption while making the calories you do eat healthful and nutritious. Simple, right?
Leave a Reply

