Anatomy of a Swim Meet

Photobucket

For all of the former swimmers out there, I’m sure you’ll agree that there is nothing quite like the atmosphere of a swim meet. The smell of chlorine. The mass of screaming coaches on the deck of the pool. The parents filling the bleachers and keeping splits on their stopwatches. All of these elements combine to form a scene that is as familiar to me as my mother’s voice. Except when I go back now, my coach isn’t there and I’m just a spectator. And old. Let’s not forget that I’m literally twice as old as I was during my swimming peak.

Let’s go back to the mass of screaming coaches for one minute. They line one side of the pool like guardians.

Photobucket

And when you’re in the pool, they do things like this:

Photobucket

This coach in particular was yelling, “GO! GO!” Things this like make swimmers ruefully shake their heads because of course they’re already trying to go as fast as they can. Silly coaches.

Now, I’ve had people say to me that watching swimming is boring and this just boggles my mind.

Photobucket

I mean, what could be boring about watching dozens of amazingly fit people walk around the deck in Speedos?

Photobucket

Plus, swimming is one of the most popular Olympic sports…

Photobucket

why not follow it year round? I mean, technique is as much a part of swimming as it is golf.

Photobucket

And swimming claims the most decorated Olympian in history. Michael Phelps. Let’s take a minute to discuss Michael Phelps.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Yup, I think that pretty much sums up Michael Phelps. But let’s not forget Ryan Lochte, who would have been the best swimmer in the world if he had been born at a time other than during the reign of Michael Phelps.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

On second thought, I don’t think there’s any reason at all for swimming to have any more fans. Nope, I think that people should just stick to watching football. I’m pretty sure I can handle being the only superfan at the pool.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

