French Press: My Forgotten Love

Photobucket
Because it’s Tuesday, (which is really just a spill-over from Monday) and because it’s 5am and because I am out of my ritual NesCafe and had to scamble to make a cup of joe, I thought I would write some more about coffee today. Specifically, about the best coffee I ever had. I was reminded of it yesterday when I found my French press shoved in the back of a bottom cabinet; forlorn and abandoned in my modern day consumption of instant coffee. I felt joy at seeing it, yet I was instantly abashed that I had forgotten about it.
Thanks to my days as a coffee shop barista, I know a lot about how coffee is brewed and I’ve tried probably every brewing method in the book. The hands down best cup of coffee I have ever tasted in my coffee-laden life was an American Sumatra brewed in a Fresh press (the nifty tall glass contraption in the picture above).
The thing is, using a French press is so much simpler than using a coffee maker. Come and I’ll show you. I should add that the best results are achieved by going to your local coffee shop (or grocery store) and having them coarsely grind your favorite coffee. However, I just used a Starbucks blend that already came ground (thanks Brother Dean!) and it came out wonderfully. You just need to be careful of the last couple of sips because some of the finer grinds may have ended up in your cup.
Okay, this is how it works. First, boil some water in a kettle. Put your coffee grinds in the bottom of your French press and pour the hot water slowly over the grinds. It’s important at this point not to depress the filter.
Photobucket
Now, set your timer for 5 minutes and let it be…
…After the 5 minutes are up, ever so slowly depress the plunger, effectively pushing the grinds to the bottom of the glass.
Photobucket
Then, pour yourself a cup of the richest coffee you’ll ever have. You see, the filter in a traditional coffee maker captures the natural oils of the coffee as well as the grinds, stripping some of the natural creaminess of the coffee. Using a French press, the oils remain intact.
It’s amazing how flavorful my lovely French press coffee is. Oh and in case you were wondering, a good French press (determined by the quality of the screen that keeps out the grinds) won’t run you any more than $30-$50 and it requires no electricity. Just patience and love. From here on out, the French press is being promoted from bottom cabinet to counter top. It’s been too long.
Leave a Reply

