Ode To A Kitchen

Photobucket
If you would have asked me six months ago to describe my perfect kitchen, I would have spoken to you about an ultra-modern space with glass cabinets, jet black counter tops and sleek silver appliances. I would have described a space completely Spartan in appearance and I would have thought that my Spartan, glass kitchen was exactly what I wanted. In fact, that kitchen would have perfectly suited the life I thought that I wanted years ago.
But then I met this kitchen. Sure, at first glance, it isn’t going to knock your socks off, but come and take a closer look. See this stretch of counter space to the right of the fridge?
Photobucket
If I had a coffee maker it would sit where my KitchenAid stand mixer is living. And hanging the mugs…
Photobucket
…why on earth didn’t I think of that before? Talk about a space saver. Oh and hanging above the counter top is a place for wine glasses.
Photobucket
Again, saves room and makes the space look more lived in. The most function part of the kitchen resides inside the cabinets.
Photobucket
Pull out drawers, some tall and some short to help you reach whatever small appliance that you need. Isn’t that exciting!?!
Photobucket
The functionality is everywhere.
Photobucket
And take a look at this kitchen island, complete with it’s own trash can and garbage disposal.
Photobucket
You can pick up a bottle up from the wine rack, turn around and grab a glass. Brilliant! There’s also space for a breakfast table (you can see the Keg-O-Rator and bar table in the back there)…
Photobucket
…and I can also see Parker playing in the family room when I’m chopping veggies at the island.
Photobucket
Nope, it certainly isn’t a showpiece kitchen, but it’s homey and comfortable and perfect for parties, kids and laughter. It isn’t what I thought I wanted, but it’s exactly what I needed. Life is funny that way, isn’t it?
One thought on “Ode To A Kitchen

  1. Kasey July 8, 2010 / 2:41 am

    What a great kitchen!! So glad you are loving your new home.

Leave a Reply

